Tutorial: New Year’s Eve Earrings

Unlike me, my sister is the typical 21-year old party girl.  While I will be chilling with my dogs and maybe a friend or two on New Years Eve, she will be hitting the bars, no doubt.  With that in mind, I made Ali a pair of earrings for Christmas that are just perfect for a New Years Eve party.

 

IMG_0678

 
IMG_0674Supplies for one SET:

– two small black beads

– two small gold beads

– four large black beads (3/8 inch)

– two large gold beads (1/2 inch?)

– four medium gold beads (1/4 inch)

– two medium black beads (1/4 inch)

– chain (mine is a very dark brownish black)

– wire (mine is a very dark brownish black)

 

 

You can see the number of links per bead in the picture here.  The largest gold bead hung at 9 links, while the smallest black used only 3 links.  Depending on the type of chain you use, the number of links will vary.  I found it helpful to leave each chain a little longer for the first earrings and cut it down as I played with how each bead would lie in the clump.  Then, for the second earrings, I cut the chain at the exact number of links.

 

From this point on, it’s pretty simple.  Create the head pin with the wire by wrapping it around the round-nosed pliers. String the bead on the wire, and then create a loop and string the chain on BEFORE closing the loop:

String the chains on your ear wire — I used the order I listed the beads in above. I found it fell nicely that way, but you might want to reorder the beads based on your beads and chain. And there ya go!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

