You Are Not A Tree

I’m kind of becoming a pro at moving.  I feel like I’ve done it an awful lot in the last few years.  It all started when I finished student teaching and wasn’t sure I wanted to actually be a teacher anymore.  As I tried to figure out what I really wanted to do with my life — and what I could realistically expect to do with my BA in History and M.Ed in Middle and Secondary Ed —  I was all over the place. Back to school? Wait for a job? Move for a job? I was that butterfly that needed to spread its wings.

Well, my boyfriend at the time wasn’t really into spreading wings (for him, that was already done and over with).  This sudden divergence in our life plans caused a bit of a problem in our relationship, and unsurprisingly (if, as I learned from Dexter, the secret to a successful relationship is shared dreams/plans) we broke up.  This was my first move.

Christmas

my first apartment decorated for Christmas

cozy apartment decorated for Christmas

another view of my first apartment  –  ❤ you Irish!

cozy kitchen at my first apartment

Well, I lived in that lovely apartment for nearly a year, working first at McDowell’s preschool (not the dream job, I’ll admit) and then as a teacher at OLC.  I decided over the summer, however, that I still had that itch to spread my wings. I wanted to get out of Erie, to leave the 2 hour radius I had always operated within and live somewhere… cool.

I ended up in Charlotte. I moved here August 13, although I never actually fully moved in.  I’ve decided NOT to share any of those apartment pictures… mostly because I never took any. I still have lots of boxes and bins lying around, I never hung up decorations, and I’ll admit I’m a little behind on my dusting. It’s pretty pathetic, but motivation is kind of hard to come by when you spend the first 4 months of the school year miserably trying to catch up and the most recent two months making plans to leave.  My apartment here, though, is lovely – 2nd floor, huge bathroom, nice sized living/dining room, huge windows in my bedroom, balcony overlooking the pool, fitness center… and the best part, it’s in Charlotte, which is seriously an awesome city.  I am SO going to miss it — Amelie’s Bakery, The Crepe Cellar, NoDa, SweetCakes Bakery, Duckworth’s Grill, Baja Soul Taqueria, Cabo Fish Taco, Birkdale Village, etc.  I am really sad to leave this city and my wonderful friends here…

That said, I hate my job, and I don’t do things I don’t like.  So again, I make plans to move.  Because I am a person and I am able to do that.  Life is definitely too short to be unhappy.  And there is no point to being unhappy when you don’t have to be.

Always remember:

inspirational quote

my life’s motto

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

